The “Full Irish”

No, this is not what I mean. 😉

pulled from Internet
                                                                                                                        (photo borrowed from Internet)

I’m talking about the Irish breakfast; that heaping mound of protein you are supposed to be able to eat all in one sitting. I remember staring at it one morning as my B&B host set it down before me: A large plate filled with sausages, rashers (thick slices of bacon), eggs, black and white puddings, beans, potatoes, and tomatoes.  Not to mention the thick slices of brown bread and toast in the basket next to me, and the large pot of tea at my disposal.

(photo borrowed from Internet)
(photo borrowed from Internet)

It looked delicious, but, I, who come from the world of choosing between cereal, yogurt, toast, or, on the rare occasion, an egg, felt like I was looking at the breakfast of a body builder.

“Aren’t you going to have any cereal?”  asked my host, worried she had brought out the plate too soon.

I glanced over at the plentiful cereal bar – cereal, granola, yogurt, and fruit – then back at my plate.  To myself I thought, Cereal! How on earth am I going to be able to eat cereal AND all of this?! This could be my meal for the next century! (Which, considering I was traveling on a budget, could actually be quite helpful.)

But instead, I glanced up with a smile and said, “Err, maybe later?”

I don’t know if I’ll ever get over the Irish Breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a “breakfast person”. I never miss eating it, and I can eat it at 4am just as well as 9am.  I just don’t eat it to this kind of proportion.  And, of course, I know that just because it’s called an “Irish Breakfast” doesn’t mean it is the breakfast all Irish eat every morning.  I think rather, it’s one of those traditions that tourists and restaurants take part in more than your average local. But regardless, I can never help but feel intimidated every time I face it.

The end result, readers, was that over the course of the next hour, I did eat my Irish breakfast. I even finished off with an apple as a pallet cleanser (although I never managed to get to that cereal).

And, what’s more, I didn’t feel hungry until later in the afternoon…and that was  after I had spent hours hiking up and down a mountain. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

